8 Limbs of Yoga

Lets start at the beginning today.
When I first started yoga I had no idea that there were what’s called the 8 limbs of yoga. I thought yoga was all about the postures at first. As I kept going, I had an amazing teacher Brittany Rollins!…she taught me to feel more, feel from my heart center, to move and breathe from my heart, &to connect with myself deeper.
I had been working out for years and have gotten to a point of working out 4 to 5 hours a day of cardio and strength training, Olympic powerlifting, and hiit workouts. I had lost about 60 to 70 pounds from my pregnancy and I still had another 20 to 30 pounds to lose to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight. I was so focused on hurting my body, more than I could handle, pushing my body to limit that it was not ready for, and having a negative mindset, thinking that my body was not good enough, and I did not love my body for what it was at that moment for creating life, a beautiful gift. I decided to try something different.
I found yoga and then I found more of myself, I helped heal diff. areas in my life where I have experienced pain, and I had trapped trauma inside my body physically and energetically. When I started doing yoga and consistently all of the weight had fallen off, there is such a thing called energetic a weight. Once I had connected with my mind heart and body, and moved in the way that my body needed to weight just started dripping off. I stopped paying attention to a scale, my mindset changed to a positive one, and I started to love myself more and more every day.
The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali refers to 8 limbs of yoga, each of which offers guidance on how to live a meaningful and purposeful life.
The word ‘yoga’ means to connect, unite or ‘yoke’. The thing we look to connect to is the true Self, also known as the ‘divine essence’, ‘ultimate self’, or atman. You might also think of this as the soul.
If that way of thinking doesn’t resonate with you, then consider that the word yoga can also mean separation or disentanglement. The thing we’re disentangling from is whatever stops us from feeling free, as the ultimate goal of any yoga practice is to attain moksha, meaning liberation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s